Picture: barcelona.com
English Featured Sports Top Stories

Barcelona Wins 2017/2018 La Liga Title

Collins Ndlovu:

Spain: Barcelona has won the 2017/2018 La Liga title courtesy of a 4-2 victory over Deportivo La Coruna at the  Estadio Riazor on Sunday night.

Barcelona was crowned  La Liga champions for the 25th minute time after beating  Derpotivo La Coruna  4-2 with the help of a hat-trick from Lionel Messi but while coach  Ernesto  Valverde praised consistency he acknowledged they have “lacked brilliance” at times.

Barca needed a draw only to clinch the and complete an eighth domestic double after winning the King’s Cup last week and they marched into a 2-0  lead.

The goals scored by from record signing Philipe Coutinho and top scorer, Messi in the first half, which means De Portivo have been relegated.

The Barcelona coach also said “ when you chase it all season you say finally ‘the league is very long’. It is not decided on a match, from the beginning we have been in the lead.

Deportivo were forced to push forward knowing only victory would be enough to keep their survival hopes alive and they paid the price as Messi added two late goals to complete the 46th hat-trick of his career.

The on-pitch celebrations were muted, perhaps out of respect for their dejected opponents, but Barca, who remain unbeaten in the league, could not be denied a seventh title in 10 seasons and Messi’s first goal was of the bunch.

Leave a Reply